Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register
rivermiles.com kcpaddler.comepic kayaks and paddles SUPStLouisMissouri American WaterMissouri River Relief Lewis and Clark Boathouse and Nature Center St. James Winery Olathe Ford Lincoln Mercuryprojectathena.orgmr340 shirtDents Unlimited2013 Stickers
Home Help Search Login Register

Pages: 1 2 
Send Topic Print
Missouri Point Series (Read 5741 times)
Reply #20 - 04/30/12 at 20:05:52

FlyinLow   Offline
2X MR340 Veteran
Kawlloween Veteran
"Life is Entered Upon
with Courage"- A de T

I know I'm new to this sport so take my comments for what they are worth.  The point system does seem like a nice way to reward those who compete in most of the races and do well.  However, I think it should be done informally (you can still keep track of points and award prizes). 

It gets scary when you start throwing around words like "governing body" and "elected officials"  Shocked

The amazing thing right now is that anyone can create their own race and it can be successful (as was evident last weekend) without belonging to an organization.

my $.02

ES

"Don't think you're on the right road just because it’s a well-beaten path."  ~Author Unknown
IP Logged

Reply #21 - 05/01/12 at 20:01:37

Manitou Paddler   Offline
5X MR340 Veteran
2X MR340 Safety Boat Pilot
4X Gritty Fitty Veteran
Kawnivore Veteran
Gritty Fitty Record Holder

Perhaps some boat classes are appropriate...tandem versus solo..........I was perhaps thinking that one should not fall off the point series for solo for example just cause you paddled tandem in one of the series races......but would be good to recognize those tandem teams that without fail race together...such as pappy and son or soggy bottom boys

Think it over.....whoever is willing to track all this needs to like the system...and it can always be modified down the road