Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register
rivermiles.com Missouri American WaterMissouri River Relief Alpine Shop St. James WineryPfefferkorn Engineering & Environmentalladsurfski.com Olathe Ford Lincoln Mercuryprojectathena.orgFarmer's Insurancehealthyriverspartnership.comLewis and Clark Boathouse and Nature Center2013 Stickers
Home Help Search Login Register

Page Index Toggle Pages: 1
Send Topic Print
2011 Rookie- boat questions (Read 10760 times)
01/03/11 at 12:12:05

Lazzy 1   Offline
2X MR340 Veteran

I've held off on asking quesitons until I knew I would get into the race.  Now that I'm signed up, I'm looking for a little insight. 

I've read all of the old posts and have gained a lot of information from this site itself.    I've decide not to metion to the wife the stories of the couple that had the run in with the barge or of the guy stuck on the bank in the fog waiting to be rescued in the previous races....

I'm new to paddling.  I got my first boat,  a 14ft Perception Carolina,  just last summer.  I completed the inaguaral 130 mile Tour du Tech race last September.   It was the first long disatnce race held in Louisiana and it was my first race as well.  Due to there being no current, it was a tough race, but I really enjoyed it.   It was during that race that I quickly learned the longer the boat, the faster you go!!  and that brings me to my question.

I'm thinking about getting a faster boat for this race.  Im considering the  QCC 700, the EPIC 18 or the Necky Looksha 17.  Currrently, I'm leaning toward the QCC 700, but i wanted to see what you guys thought about these boats.  There are no dealers for the QCC or Epic anywhere in Louisiana so I'm likely going to have limited opportunity to try them out.  I will have an oportunity to demo the Necky Looksha.  Being 17' 6", the necky woud keep me in the recreational class of the Teche race while the others would move my up to the big boy level of competition so that is an advantage for the necky.